Product Review: Morningstar Farms Meal Starters Veggie Meatballs

These meatballs couldn’t have appeared at a better time. About a week ago, I was searching for the vegetarian meatballs we normally eat (Nate’s) at my grocery store. They didn’t have them! I asked an employee about them, and she said they no longer carried any of their products! I couldn’t think of any other company that made veggie meatballs, and was envisioning a world without veggie meatball subs, and then I see these meatballs at Target (along with the long-missing veggie hotdogs!!!). Instructions call for either baking these or microwaving them, and I chose baking. You spray a baking sheet with cooking spray and bake for about 20 minutes, turning once. I made spaghetti and meatballs. After baking the meatballs, I added them to my pot of spaghetti sauce. I really liked these. They tasted very meaty. Liam didn’t like them, saying that they tasted like his (veggie) burger at Red Robin. I think these are a great addition to the MSF lineup. Hurray! PS: still trying to figure out the new camera.

rating: 9

This entry was posted in product review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Product Review: Morningstar Farms Meal Starters Veggie Meatballs

  1. Kate says:

    Was disappointed in the texture of these. When cut, they have an elastic-like stretchy substance that strings when spread and is sticky, (and is not cheese). On perusal of the more than 43 ingredients, I find the only ingredient that is a recognizable whole food is onion and possibly the soy flour. Otherwise, they are just some processed-out part of a food and then a plethora of chemicals. Why on earth do you need to add CAFFEINE to veggie meatballs???? This is not a naturally occurring item. if it were, it would not need to be listed. It is an additive. Although I very much prefer to eat vegetarian, I would wager these to be far less healthy that full-on meat meatballs.

  2. peppertree says:

    You are probably right, but I am not a vegetarian for health reasons.

  3. Mickie says:

    bleehhh mine came out stretchy and gooey also, but maybe thats because i microwaved them and than tried to pan fry them. I am also a vegetarian, and have ate many morningstar products but these veggies ball have been the worst. DX

Leave a Reply

