Matzo Ball Soup

I had never had matzo ball soup before last night, and I have to say, I love it! It’s so good and it’s pretty darn easy. I basically made the matzo ball dough and then put it in the fridge for about 4 hours. Then I scooped the dough into little balls, and left them in the fridge for about another 2 hours. Then I boiled the matzo balls in water for about 30 minutes, and added them to a big pot of vegetarian chicken broth I had cooking as well. The last step was to sprinkle some fresh dill on top. Voila! When Toby first took a bite, he asked me what it was, and if it was a German soup recipe. He had a soccer game at 7:30pm, so I knew he couldn’t eat too much. Well that didn’t stop him! He ate two bowls full and said that he couldn’t stop eating this soup, that it belongs in my “hall of fame!” Liam also ate two bowls full. PS: I know I am always talking about the vegetarian chicken broth I use, but I don’t know if I’ve ever put a pic of it up. Also, the bowl I ate out of is red, so the coloring is a little deceiving. I should have used a white bowl!

rating: 9.4

Matzo Ball Soup

serves 6

Ingredients:

4 large eggs
3 tablespoons finely chopped shallot or onion
1 small clove garlic, minced
1 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh dill, plus small sprigs for topping
1 tablespoon minced fresh parsley
1 cup matzo meal
Kosher salt
vegetarian chicken broth

Directions:

Make the matzo balls: Whisk the eggs in a bowl. Stir in the shallot, garlic, lemon zest, ginger, dill, parsley, matzo meal, 1/4 cup of the prepared vegetarian chicken broth and 1 3/4 teaspoons salt. Cover and chill at least 2 hours or overnight. Roll heaping teaspoonfuls of dough into balls with damp hands. Cover and chill until ready to cook, up to 8 hours.

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add the matzo balls and reduce the heat to maintain a low simmer; cover and cook until the balls are tender, 35 minutes. Meanwhile, warm the vegetarian chicken broth. Drain the matzo balls and serve in the warm broth. Top with dill.

This entry was posted in soup and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

