Pierogi with Creamy Mushrooms

I think I might subscribe to the Weight Watchers magazine. I always find some great recipes in there, like this one! I happened to have some pierogi in the freezer, so I only needed to buy a couple of items for this meal. This dish really comes together quickly, and boy is it good! I was surprised by how good it was. I usually boil or pan-fry the pierogi, and then serve them with just some sour cream on the side, so this is a nice change. Toby really liked it, too. I served this with some roasted asparagus (can’t get enough of them!) and a green salad.

rating: 9

Pierogi with Creamy Mushrooms
(Weight Watchers magazine, May/June 2009)

Ingredients:

2 tsp olive oil
1 (18-ounce) pkg portobello mushroom caps, thinly sliced
1 onion, thinly sliced
2 tsp paprika
1.2 tsp salt
2 tsp all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups low-sodium chicken broth (I used vegetarian “chicken” broth)
18 frozen low-fat potato and Cheddar cheese pierogi
1/4 cup fat-free sour cream
2 tbsp chopped fresh dill (I omitted)

Directions:

1. Heat the oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add the mushrooms, onion, paprika, and salt; cook, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables are tender, 8-1o minutes. Sprinkle the flour over the vegetables; stir until blended.
2. Stir in the broth and pierogi; bring to a boil. Reduce the heat; cover and simmer until the pierogi are tender, 7-8 minutes. Remove the skillet from the heat; stir in the sour cream and dill.

serving= 3 pierogi with 1/2 cup sauce
Points per serving= 5

dscf7056

This entry was posted in appetizer, pasta, side dish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment