Pumpkin Bread

I know, I know, another recipe for pumpkin bread. It seems like all I make lately is pumpkin bread and squash soup! So I have discovered something pretty neat in my town. It’s called a l-i-b-r-a-r-y. They have tons of books that you can read for, get this, FREE! I took Liam a couple of days ago to get a movie (Stuart Little), and they had a little display of cookbooks calling to me. I saw this one, “Baking Artisan Pastries & Breads”, and I brought it home. It’s very technical, and it tells you everything you ever wanted to know about baking. I think I have decided to let go of my dreams of opening up a cupcake shop. 1. I don’t really bake that much and 2. the hours would kill me. I think I will just satisfy my love of cupcakes by eating them occasionally. So this bread- it’s actually a recipe for pumpkin muffins, but he says you can also use 2 loaf pans to make bread, and that’s what I did. The crumb topping…I don’t know about that. It was very messy and would just fall off while I was eating my bread. I don’t think it’s necessary. The bread, though, was excellent! Mine had to bake a few more minutes than it called for, but it was worth it. I had my couple of pieces and then wrapped up the rest of that loaf for a neighbor, and wrapped up loaf #2 for Toby to take to work. PS: this makes your house smell great!

rating: 9

Pumpkin Bread
(Baking Artisan Pastries & Breads, Ciril Hitz)

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp ground allspice
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
2 1/2 cups granulated sugar
3/4 cup vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
3 whole eggs
1 1/2 cups canned pure pumpkin
1 batch crumb topping

Crumb topping:

1 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup light brown sugar
3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter
1/8 tsp baking powder

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in the mixing bowl of a 5-qt. stand mixer, and use a paddle attachment to blend together until the desired texture is achieved. Take care not to overmix. This can also be done by hand using a pastry cutter or by using two sharp knives, finishing with your hands.

Bread:

1. Prepare a batch of Crumb Topping and refrigerate (can be made up to a week in advance).
2. Prepare muffin tins (or load pans) with nonstick baking spray. Preheat a convection oven to 350 degrees F.
3. In a mixing bowl, sift together the flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, allspice, salt, baking soda, and baking powder, and set aside.
4. In a large mixing bowl, blend together the granulated sugar, vegetable oil, and vanilla extract using a paddle attachment.
5. Slowly add the eggs one at a time, blending well between each egg, then add the pumpkin puree and mix. Add the dry ingredients mixture and blend, being careful not to overmix. The bather will be rather wet.
6. Scoop the batter into the muffin tins, filling two-thirds full, and sprinkle with the Crumb Topping. An ice-cream scoop works well for portioning the batter.
7. Bake in the preheated convection oven for 20 to 25 minutes. Remove from the oven and let stand for 5 minutes before removing from the pans and allowing to cool on a wire rack.

This entry was posted in bread and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pumpkin Bread

  1. Stacy & Joel Jr says:

    OK, we will give you points for almost a cup of oil in this recipe – definitely not one of those healthy ones! 😛 Pumpkin’s not our fav, but I can get behind this recipe. Anything with a stick of butter can’t be all bad lol! I do like the smell of pumpkin, though. Have to give it a shot, since we feel bad for not patronizing your recipes lately, we still read religiously, though, if that counts… you really get kudos for the willpower though, sending the leftovers off and out of the house. You know yourself well! And yeah a cupcake shop seems like a fun idea, but visiting one and eating them occasionally probably IS a better alternative… 🙂

Leave a Reply

