Italian “Beef” Stew

This turned out so well, and Toby said it was one of the best things I’ve ever made. Wow! I’ve made a similar “beef” stew before, and I actually prefer it to this one, but this one was good, too. I used two bags of Gardein Beefless Tips in place of the beef. I prepared them the same way, however. I did not need to cook this as long as the recipe says (since I wasn’t using meat). I think it cooked for about 30 minutes or so. Taste as you go along! I think next time I make this, I will cut the mushrooms into smaller pieces, and also, maybe the tomatoes as well. Toby said the carrots needed to be cooked more, but you know how he is about carrots. This was hearty and full of flavor. I served this with some bread (for dipping!).

rating: 9.5

Italian Beef Stew
(Cooking Light, Jan./Feb. 2011)

Ingredients:

7 teaspoons olive oil, divided
1 1/2 cups chopped onion
1/2 cup chopped carrot
1 tablespoon minced garlic
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
2 pounds boneless chuck roast, trimmed and cut into cubes (I used 2 bags of Gardein Beefless Tips)
3/4 teaspoon salt, divided
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1 cup dry red wine
3 3/4 cups chopped seeded peeled plum tomato (about 2 pounds)
1 1/2 cups fat-free, lower-sodium beef broth (I used a vegetarian beef broth)
1/2 cup water
2 teaspoons chopped fresh oregano (I used dried oregano)
2 teaspoons chopped fresh thyme (I used dried thyme)
1 bay leaf
1 (8-ounce) package cremini mushrooms, quartered
3/4 cup (1/4-inch-thick) slices carrot
2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil (I used dried basil)
1 tablespoon chopped parsley (I used dried parsley)

Directions:

1. Heat a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add 1 teaspoon oil to pan. Add onion and chopped carrot; sauté 8 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add garlic; sauté for 45 seconds, stirring constantly. Remove from pan.
2. Add 1 tablespoon oil to pan. Place 1/4 cup flour in a shallow dish. Sprinkle beef with 1/2 teaspoon salt and pepper; dredge in flour. Add half of beef to pan; sauté 6 minutes, browning on all sides. Remove from pan. Repeat procedure.
3. Add wine to pan, and bring to a boil, scraping pan. Cook until reduced to 1/3 cup (about 5 minutes). Return meat and the onion mixture to pan. Add tomato and next 6 ingredients; bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer for 45 minutes, stirring occasionally. Uncover, and stir in sliced carrot. Simmer, uncovered, for 1 hour or until meat is very tender, stirring occasionally. Discard bay leaf. Stir in remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt, basil, and parsley.

makes 8 servings
serving size- 1 cup
calories per serving: 334

This entry was posted in soup, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Italian “Beef” Stew

  1. That sounds great. We use a similar recipe from The Silver Spoon that also uses red bell peppers.

Leave a Reply

