Meatless Biscuits and Gravy

This recipe comes from the blog Healthy Food Lazy People, which I have just discovered. HFLP just made a comment on one of my posts, and that led me to his blog and well, here we are! This recipe caught my eye right away. I love biscuits and gravy and don’t get the opportunity to have it much. I did not make my own biscuits (I used frozen ones, Pillsbury, I think). Also, I used Silk soy milk instead of milk. I used Morningstar Farms sausage patties for the sausage. I microwaved them, then browned them in a pan (I cut them into smaller pieces). This gravy thickened up really fast, and it looked so good. To me, it tasted like flour. That’s all I could taste. Toby said it wasn’t bad, but it just wasn’t  “exciting”. It really just didn’t have much of a flavor at all. I wonder what it needs? I will keep working on this one.

rating: 7

Meatless Biscuits and Gravy
(http://healthyfoodlazypeople.com/)

Ingredients:

for the biscuits:

1 cup of all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 cup milk
A few shakes of salt
1 tablespoon butter, melted

for the gravy:

1/2 pound ground vegetarian sausage (I used Morningstar Farms Sausage Patties)
2 tablespoons butter
4 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 3/4 cup milk (I used Silk soy milk)
A few shakes of salt
A few shakes of pepper

Directions:

Step 1) To make the biscuits, mix the flour, baking powder and salt together and then add in the melted butter and milk. Stir and it will magically turn into a dough. Scoop the dough into 6 small blobs on a baking sheet and place in the oven for 10 minutes at 450 degrees.

Step 2) While the biscuits are baking, place a half pound of ground vegetarian sausage into a pan and begin to cook. When the sausage has browned to your liking, add in 2 tablespoons of butter and stir.

Step 3) Sprinkle half of your flour onto the sausage and immediately add in half of your milk. Stir. Then, add in the rest of your flour and the rest of your milk. Stir.

Step 4) Don’t panic if your gravy looks really soupy, just keep stirring. After a few minutes, it will begin to thicken up. I usually let the gravy simmer, with an occasional stir, until my biscuits are done.

Step 5) Place a few biscuits on a plate and top with gravy.

Step 6) Eat.

This entry was posted in bread, breakfast, brunch, sauce or gravy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meatless Biscuits and Gravy

  1. Stacy & Joel Jr says:

    We do something very similar to this, but I add bouillon. When I used to make the meaty version way back I know I used to add beef or chicken cubes for an extra boost of flavor, so I add veggie cubes to this when I make it and everyone like it. May be worth a try? 🙂

  2. peppertree says:

    Good idea. I have several different vegetarian stocks I could add- chicken, beef, veggie, and mushroom. Will give them a try! 😉

Leave a Reply

