Roasted Red Pepper & Tomato Soup

I love Paula Deen, but her recipes never seem to turn out for me. This soup started out ok. I tasted it at every step, and I actually preferred the way it tasted BEFORE I added all the spices and the balsamic! The end result, to me, tasted of pure balsamic. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t horrible. I really like the idea of roasting the red peppers, and the soup is actually kind of easy to make. One good thing I learned from this- Liam and I both really like roasted red peppers! Talk about an easy and healthy snack! I served this soup with some wheat rolls and a salad.  **PS: this did NOT make enough for 6-8 servings. We got 4 bowls out of this, and one of those bowls was a kid’s bowl.

rating: 7

Roasted Red Pepper & Tomato Soup
(Cooking with Paula Deen, Sept./Oct. 2010)

Ingredients:

2 large red peppers, seeded and cut into strips
1 tbsp olive oil
1 cup chopped onion
4 cloves garlic, minced
10 medium tomatoes, chopped
1 cup chicken broth (I used vegetarian chicken broth)
1-2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp dried basil
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
garnish-fresh oregano (I omitted)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil. Spray a foil-lined baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray. Arrange peppers on prepared baking sheet in a single layer. Bake 15 minutes or until tender and browned.
2. In a large Dutch oven, heat oil over medium-high heat. Add onion and garlic, and saute 5 minutes or until tender. Add tomatoes, and saute until softened. In the container of a blender, add tomato mixture, peppers, and chicken broth; process, in batches, until smooth. Return soup to Dutch oven. Add salt, basil, oregano, and pepper. Stir in balsamic vinegar. Garnish with fresh oregano, if desired.

Serves 6-8

This entry was posted in soup, vegan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

