Moroccan Split Pea Soup

This soup is really easy, but it is a little time-consuming. Those tiny little split peas take some time to cook! I used my immersion blender instead of a blender, and that worked well. Toby really liked this soup (after adding hot sauce). Liam liked it too, especially the chickpeas. I didn’t love it, which is too bad, because there’s a whole vat of it sitting in the fridge. I thought it was kind of bland.

rating: 6.5

Moroccan Split Pea Soup
(Weight Watchers magazine, Sept./Oct. 2011)

prep: 10 min.
cook: 1 hour 20 min.
serves 6

Ingredients:

1 1/2 tsp canola oil
1 large onion, chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 tbsp ground coriander
1 tbsp ground cumin
2 (32-ounce) cartons low-sodium chicken broth (I used vegetarian “chicken” broth)
1 (16-ounce) bag dried yellow split peas, picked over, rinsed, and drained
3/4 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
1 (14.5-ounce) can diced tomatoes
1/4 cup fresh cilantro sprigs (I omitted)

Directions:

1. Heat oil in a large Dutch oven over medium heat. Add onion and cook, covered, stirring occasionally, until softened, 4-5 minutes. Add garlic, coriander, and cumin; cook, stirring frequently, until fragrant, about 1 minute.
2. Stir in broth and split peas; bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, covered, until split peas are softened, about 1 hour.
3. Transfer 2 cups of mixture to blender; let cool about 5 minutes and puree. Stir puree, chickpeas, and tomatoes into Dutch oven. Cook, covered, until soup is heated through and flavors are blended, about 15 minutes. served topped with cilantro.

per serving: 344 calories

This entry was posted in soup, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moroccan Split Pea Soup

  1. Marge says:

    I’ve made this soup twice and plan to make it again. I have tweaked it.
    1. I saute 2 giant chopped onions in EVOO and frozen chick pea cooking water. Next time I will use 3 onions.
    2. I used 5 cloves of garlic.
    3. Next time I will double the cumin & coriander.
    4. I used approximately 2 cups of cooked chickpeas
    5. I used 2 giant tomatoes. They need to be chopped finely.
    6. I use immersion blender to puree the 2 cups.
    7. I cook 1 cup of short-grain brown rice in my rice cooker and dump it all in.
    8. I use zaatar to spice it up because it’s bland. But delicious! And the zaatar is fabulous and adds great non-hot-spicy flavor.

    Amazing how in close to an hour of simmering, those tiny yellow split peas do not turn to mush. They’re al dente.

  2. Radia RAja says:

    Traditional moroccan split pea soup is the split peas olive oil, paprika, cumin, cayenne, salt, and pepper cooked in a pressure cooker or soup pot in water and blended once cooked. When served you can add additional olive oil and cumin and paprika. Delicious to dip bread in. That’s how I know it to be made in morocco. It is very popular during the winter months.

Leave a Reply

