Mexican Beans and Rice

I have been planning to make this recipe for several weeks and then plans changed at the last minute. I finally got around to making it last night, and…it was awful. To start with, I had problems with the rice. I cooked the amount it called for to equal 2 cups cooked rice, but that is NOT what I ended up with. I had maybe 1 cup rice, which is really not enough. So this dish ended up being more beans and veggies than rice. I really let the celery, onion, and green pepper cook down a LONG time, because I didn’t want any crunch from the celery (I can’t stand celery, especially crunchy celery). I mean, it cooked for at least 25 minutes. My end result was a bland, flavorless pot of blech. I served Toby his with his bottle of hot sauce, because I knew he would really need it this time. Thank goodness for the toppings (sour cream, shredded cheese, and green onions) or there would have been no taste at all. Skip this one.

rating: 3

Mexican Beans and Rice
(Taste of Home Healthy Cooking, Aug./Sept. 2011)

prep/total time: 30 min.

Ingredients:

2 celery ribs, chopped
1 medium green pepper, chopped
1 medium onion, chopped
1 tablespoon canola oil
1 can (28 ounces) diced tomatoes, undrained
1 can (16 ounces) kidney beans, rinsed and drained
2 cups cooked brown rice
2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce (I used vegetarian Worcestershire sauce)
1-1/2 teaspoons chili powder
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/4 cup reduced-fat sour cream
2 green onions, chopped

Directions:

In a large nonstick skillet, saute the celery, green pepper and onion in oil until tender.
Stir in the tomatoes, beans, rice, Worcestershire sauce, chili powder and pepper. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 7-9 minutes or until heated through. Top with cheese, sour cream and green onions. Yield: 4 servings.

1.5 cups= 354 calories

This entry was posted in main dish, side dish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

