Pasta e Fagioli

There’s something about tiny little shapes of pasta that I love. I knew Liam would like this, since it has tiny pasta AND beans. We all really liked this recipe, but, of course, Toby said the celery was too crunchy. I couldn’t even taste it, but he said he could. I swear, I have to cook our food like I’m cooking for a 90 year old. I ate a bowl of this the next day for lunch and it was even better.

rating: 9

Pasta e Fagioli
(Everyday Food, Dec. 2010)

Prep: 20 minutes
Total: 45 minutes

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
3 celery stalks, diced medium
2 carrots, diced medium
1 small red onion, diced medium
2 garlic cloves, minced
Coarse salt and ground pepper
1 sprig oregano (I used a sprinkling of dried oregano)
1 can (28 ounces) diced tomatoes
2 1/2 cups low-sodium vegetable broth
1 Parmesan rind (optional), plus 1/4 cup shaved Parmesan for serving (I omitted the rind))
1 cup small pasta, such as ditalini
1 can (15.5 ounces) cannellini beans, rinsed and drained

Directions:

In a medium heavy pot, heat oil over medium. Add celery, carrots, onion, and garlic; season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, until vegetables are soft, 9 minutes. Add oregano, tomatoes, broth, and Parmesan rind (if using). Increase heat to high and simmer rapidly until liquid thickens slightly, 5 minutes. Add pasta and cook, partially covered, until tender, 10 to 15 minutes. Add beans and cook until warmed through, about 3 minutes. To serve, remove rind and sprinkle with shaved Parmesan.

per serving: 310 calories

This entry was posted in pasta and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pasta e Fagioli

  1. Colline says:

    This is something I could make for my girls’ school lunch.

  2. OK, this one looks good too! I told you we are still reading you every day you put something up but just haven’t had as many grab us as in the old days lol… but I had this one saved to add ingredients for grocery run and that day has come… I’m making this one next week, I like Olive Garden fa-zool lol, I bet this’ll be good, too. It’s getting to be SOUP kinda weather, I reckon! πŸ™‚

  3. PS Yeah like cooking for a 90-year-old EXCEPT for the hot sauce! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

