Volcano Potatoes

I just didn’t see how this recipe was going to all come together, but the name of the dish intrigued me! I wasn’t quite sure what to expect! I used two packages of prepared mashed potatoes, and when I took them out of their containers, they weren’t creamy at all. They kind of came out in pieces. I figured once they started heating up, then would become creamy, and they did. I used shredded mild Cheddar cheese for the cheese, because that’s what I had on hand. These turned out….REALLY GOOD! I couldn’t believe it! Very easy, and very good.

rating: 9
Volcano Potatoes
(Budget-friendly Meals, Better Homes and Gardens)

prep: 15 minutes
bake 65 minutes

makes 10 servings

Ingredients:

3 20-ounce packages refrigerated mashed potatoes (I used two packages)
3/4 cup whipping cream
3/4 cup shredded Gruyere, Havarti, or American Cheese (3 ounces) (I used shredded mild cheddar)
Freshly cracked black pepper

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees F. Spoon potatoes into a 2-qt. casserole. Bake, uncovered, for 50 minutes.
2. Meanwhile, in a medium mixing bowl, beat cream with an electric mixer on medium speed until soft peaks form (tips curl); fold in cheese.
3. Remove casserole from oven. Increase oven temperature to 375 degrees F. With a large spoon, make a hole in the the center of the potatoes by pushing them from the center to the sides. Spoon the cream mixture into the hole. Sprinkle top with cracked black pepper.
4. Bake, uncovered, for 15-20 minutes more or until top is golden.

per serving: 243 calories

This entry was posted in side dish and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Volcano Potatoes

  1. This is Stacy of “Stacy & Joel Jr” infamy πŸ˜‰ You had us at CHEESE and HEAVY CREAM! Carbalicious! And not too healthy – either you’re just having a cheat day or you’re going back to GOOD (not-healthy) food?! :)) Either way, we’re still loyal readers, just haven’t had anything strike our fancy in awhile… this sounds like one to try. Well with either homemade or instant mashed, but the rest sounds interesting!

  2. PS All I could think of while looking at that picture is… well I can’t exactly write it in words too well, but, you know, those 5 tones from Close Encounters of the Third Kind… πŸ˜‰

  3. peppertree says:

    Stacy! Where you been, girl??! I am still trying to eat healthy food, thank you very much, and this one counts! πŸ™‚ Everything in moderation! I just didn’t eat the whole dish (although I could have, it was that good). And yes, you are right, Close Encounters! Devil’s Tower! LOL!

Leave a Reply

