Vegetable-“Beef” Soup

Do you need an idea for an awesome dinner tonight? How about something that’s really fast? And really good?? Then this is the recipe for you. This soup turned out so great, I really wish I had doubled it. I had two bowls, Liam had two bowls, and Toby, well, I lost count. I think he had four. The secret to this dish is the Gardein Beefless Tips. I hope you can find those where you are, because they are just excellent. I’ve made a “beef” soup with them before, and my little trick with them is to cut each piece in half. They are kind of big anyway, and this way you can get a little nugget in every spoonful. This soup is very customizable, too. I think it would be great if you added rice or pasta, and you can always change the veggies according to what you like or can find. Serve this with some crusty bread on a chilly day. Now that’s what I’m talking about.

*Seriously, though, the next time I make this, I am doubling everything and using my biggest pot.

rating: 9.9

Vegetable-“Beef” Soup

you need about 20 minutes or so

serves 6

Ingredients:

1 tbsp cooking oil
2 bags Gardein Beefless Tips
3 14-ounce cans vegetarian “beef” broth, or vegetable broth
1 14.5-ounce can diced tomatoes with basil, oregano, and garlic, undrained
1 16-ounce package frozen green beans, carrots, peas, and lima beans

Directions:

1. Add oil to a frying pan and fry the Gardein Beefless Tips until golden brown. Cut each piece in half and set aside.
2. In a large pot, add the broth and can of tomatoes. Let come to a boil, then turn down to medium.
3. Add the frozen veggies and cook until the veggies are cooked through.
4. Stir in the Gardein Beefless Tips and simmer about 5 minutes. Serve.

This entry was posted in soup, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

