Tofu Burgers

Sorry that this picture doesn’t look like much. The “burger” was actually OK. I probably won’t ever make it again, just because there are far better sandwiches out there, but it was edible. 😉 I did leave off the sprouts, and I probably should have added some lettuce, but I didn’t. I left on the radishes, and I am glad I did. They added a nice crunch. Liam didn’t like his, so Toby ate his as well.

rating: 6.5

Tofu Burgers
(Real Simple, Jun/July 2004)

time needed: 35 min.
makes 4 servings

Ingredients:

1/2 cup soy sauce
2 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon white vinegar
14 ounces extra-firm tofu, drained
2 tablespoons olive oil (if cooking on a stove top)
1/4 pound Cheddar, sliced
1 4-ounce package alfalfa sprouts (I omitted)
1 small bunch radishes, sliced
4 whole-wheat rolls, toasted
honey mustard (optional)

Directions:

In a saucepan, combine the soy sauce, sugar, and vinegar. Cook the marinade over low heat until thickened, 5 to 7 minutes.
Cut the tofu into four 1-inch-thick burgers. Transfer to a bowl, pour the marinade over the top, and let sit 15 minutes, turning once.
Place the burgers on a medium-hot grill and cook 1 to 2 minutes per side. (Or heat the oil in a grill pan over medium heat and cook the tofu 2 minutes per side.)
Top each burger with some of the Cheddar and cook 2 minutes more or until the cheese melts.
Top with some sprouts and sliced radishes. Serve on the rolls with mustard, if desired

This entry was posted in sandwich, tofu and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tofu Burgers

  1. candicepeak says:

    I don’t think I have actually ever had a tofu burger.I tend to stick to black bean burgers. Sometimes the consistency of tofu freaks me out a little.

Leave a Reply

