Slow-cooker Sweet Potato and Lentil Soup

I bought a slow-cooker a couple of weeks ago (they were on sale for $20 at Wegman’s!), and just last night finally got around to using it. It was really nice just throwing a few ingredients in a pot and leaving it alone for 8 hours! I was very anxious to taste this soup, and I have to say, I was disappointed. It was very bland and tasted low-calorie. Toby said “You know what this soup needs? Flavor.” I agreed. It wasn’t so bad that I threw the leftovers away, though. I will be eating those for the next couple of lunches. Dang.

rating: 6

Slow-cooker Sweet Potato and Lentil Soup
(Food Network magazine)

Total time needed: 8 hours, 25 min.
prep time: 25 min.
cook time: 8 hours

serves 4

Ingredients:

1 large sweet potato, peeled and diced
3 medium carrots, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
3 stalks celery, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
2 leeks, halved lengthwise and cut into 1/2-inch pieces (white and light green parts only)
3/4 cup dried yellow or red lentils
1 4-inch piece ginger, peeled and finely grated
1 teaspoon curry powder
Kosher salt
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
Juice of 1/2 lemon, plus lemon wedges for serving (optional)
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro (I omitted)

Directions:

Combine the sweet potato, carrots, celery, leeks, lentils, ginger, 3/4 teaspoon curry powder and 1 teaspoon salt in a 4-to-6-quart slow cooker. Add 6 cups water and stir, then cover and cook on low, undisturbed, 8 hours.

Stir the soup vigorously with a whisk to make a rough puree. Thin with hot water, if desired.

Melt the butter in a small skillet over medium-high heat. Add the garlic and the remaining 1/4 teaspoon curry powder and cook until the curry powder is slightly toasted, about 1 minute. Stir the curry mixture into the soup and add the lemon juice, cilantro, and salt to taste. Serve with lemon wedges.

Per serving: Calories 257

This entry was posted in slow-cooker, soup, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slow-cooker Sweet Potato and Lentil Soup

  1. Megan says:

    I saw this in Food Network Mag and have been anxious to try it. I’ve been wary to do it though, since the last soup I made in my slow cooker also came out REALLY bland. I blame it on both that recipe and this one from FN both using only water for the liquid. Maybe subbing half of the water for vegetable broth or stock (or maybe even all 6 cups it calls for) will help? Sorry you were disappointed with this though.

  2. peppertree says:

    That’s funny, because that’s the same thing I told my husband (using broth instead). I might give it another try and try that. I ate some today for lunch and added a lot of seasoning.

Leave a Reply

