“Morning After” Breakfast Casserole

First of all, I hope you all had a wonderful holiday, whatever you may celebrate! I have eaten way too many sweets and am still full! And speaking of food…

I have been looking for a breakfast casserole to have on Christmas morning. The last couple of Christmas mornings, I have made Gorilla bread. I really like it, but I think I was the only one. My husband isn’t as into sweets as I am. Plus, the Gorilla bread is a little time-consuming to make. Last year I made a French toast casserole that just did not turn out. It was so soggy on the inside, and no one ate it. So I’ve been on the search for something else, and someone (still haven’t found out who) sent me this recipe from a website. I was able to put it together Christmas Eve and cover it with foil and refrigerate it, then Christmas morning, all I had to do was pop it in the oven. I also served biscuits with “sausage” patties, just in case this wasn’t any good. But it was! The hash browns were really good, much better than I think bread would have been. We also heated up some leftovers the next morning and it was just as good. I think I have found my Christmas morning breakfast! Hooray!

rating: 8.5

Morning After Breakfast Casserole

Ingredients:

8 frozen hash brown patties (Ore ida!) Or you can use a 12 oz bag of shreded hash browns
4 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
1 pound cubed fully cooked ham (or cooked sausage and bacon!) – I used about 6 Morningstar Farms sausage patties, and I broke them into pieces
7 eggs
1 cup milk (I used Silk lite plain soymilk)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground mustard
A few drops of Hot Sauce (Franks or Tabisco)- I omitted
P.S  No onions or peppers were added to this due to sensitive stomachs, but feel free to add

Directions:

Place hash brown patties in a single layer in a greased 13-in. x 9-in. x 2-in. baking dish. Sprinkle with cheese and ham. (or sausage and bacon)
In a bowl, beat eggs, milk, salt and mustard and hot sauce. Pour over the meat.
At this point, you can refrigerate, covered overnight.
Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour. Uncover; bake 15 minutes longer or until edges are golden brown and a knife inserted near the center comes out clean.

This entry was posted in breakfast, brunch and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Morning After” Breakfast Casserole

  1. MOM says:

    It was wonderful and you are right about the hash browns. I loved it………..and the company,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

