The Best Broccoli of Your Life

I bought some broccoli to go with last night’s dinner, and I had no idea what to do with it. I like broccoli, but I usually throw it in soups. So I looked online for “a good way to prepare broccoli”, and I saw this blog post. How can you turn down an offer to eat the best broccoli of your life? Well, I couldn’t. I happened to have all of the ingredients on hand. One thing about broccoli- it looked like I had a TON of broccoli on the cookie sheet, but when they were done, there was about half as much. It really cooks down. This recipe was really good. I added way too many pine nuts, but is that really a bad thing? We all liked this broccoli here. Was it the best broccoli of my life? I am going to say no. But it was close.

rating: 9

The Best Broccoli of Your Life
(http://www.amateurgourmet.com/)

time needed: 30 min.

Ingredients:

2 large bunches of broccoli, cut into florets
olive oil (amount is up to you)
salt (amount is up to you)
pepper (amount is up to you)
4 garlic cloves, peeled and sliced
zest from 1 lemon
juice from 1 lemon
3 tbsp toasted pine nuts
1/3 cup grated Parmesan

Directions:

-Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
-Put broccoli on cookie sheet, and drizzle with olive oil. Add salt, pepper, and garlic. Roast for 20-25 min. until the broccoli starts to brown.
-Take out of oven and put into a large bowl. Add the zest, lemon juice, Parmesan, 1.5 tbsp more olive oil, pine nuts and stir.

This entry was posted in side dish and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

