Raspberry Honey Tapioca

Are any of you on Pinterest? I love it. It’s very addictive, however! It’s a virtual bulletin board, where you can “pin” ideas for whatever, like a new baby’s nursery, food, or hairstyles. I saw a picture of this dessert and I pinned it for future reference. I made this the other night. Have you ever had tapioca? Do you know what tapioca is?? It’s got such a weird texture, I had to read the ingredients to make sure it wasn’t gelatin! Tapicoa is a starch extracted from the cassava plant. Huh. Anywho, I didn’t love this dish, I am sad to say. And to be fair, I did use Silk Plain Lite soy milk in place of the milk. Maybe that had something to do with the taste? I also left out the rosewater, but so did the original poster, and she said hers was good. But…it was very pretty! It just left kind of a bitter aftertaste in my mouth, the more I ate it. PS: If any of you want to be on Pinterest, let me know and I can send you an invite! I just need your email address.

rating: 6

Raspberry Honey Tapioca
(http://17andbaking.com)

Serves 4-6
time needed: about 1.5 hours

Ingredients:

3 cups milk
1/3 cup small pearl tapioca
2 large egg yolks, lightly beaten
1/4 tsp fine-grain sea salt
1/3 cup mild honey
Grated zest of 1 small lemon
1/4 to 1 tsp rose water (I omitted)
Chopped toasted pistachios or sliced raspberries to garnish

Directions:

Soak the tapioca in 1 cup of the milk in a medium, heavy saucepan for 30 – 60 minutes. Whisk in the yolks, salt, honey, and remaining milk.
Bring the mixture barely to a boil over medium-low heat, stirring. This will take about 15 minutes. Decrease the heat so the mixture gently simmers, stirring constantly, for another 20 minutes or until the tapioca is fully cooked (this depends on how large your tapioca pearls are.) The tapioca is fully cooked when the pearls swell up and are nearly translucent – tasting is the best way to tell. The pudding itself will also thicken into a custard. Continue to taste and stir, preventing the tapioca from scorching.
Remove the pan from the heat, stir in the lemon zest, then let the pudding cool (it will thicken a bit.) Stir in the rose water, if using, and wait another few minutes. Heidi likes to eat it warm, topped with pistachios, but I liked it cold, with fresh raspberries

This entry was posted in dessert, snack and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

