Fried Green Beans

I like green beans, and especially when they are fried! I know, I know, anything fried is unhealthy, but dang, these were good! I didn’t use the FOUR CUPS OF OIL the recipe calls for, so I think that’s why my green beans clumped together. But they still tasted great! The dipping sauce that is also in this recipe is really spicy, so I made another sauce for those of us that don’t like the heat. I mixed up some mayo, minced garlic, and some parsley. I wish fried food like this kept overnight, because I certainly would be eating the leftovers for lunch, but I know it would be a soggy mess.

rating: 9

Fried Green Beans
(Country Living, July/Aug. 2011)

serves 4
working time: 25 min.
total time: 40 min.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup Dijon Mustard
1/4 cup Honey
2 teaspoons Hot Sauce (I omitted)
1 1/2 teaspoon Light Soy Sauce
1 pinch Dry Mustard
4 cups Canola Oil, for frying
2 large Egg Whites
1 1/2 cups All-Purpose Flour
1 1/4 cups Club Soda
1 pound Green Beans, ends trimmed
Salt, to taste

Directions:

In a medium saucepan over low heat, whisk first 5 ingredients until warmed. Transfer sauce to a small bowl; let cool.
In a medium Dutch oven fitted with a thermometer over medium-high heat, heat oil to 350 degrees F. In a medium bowl, whisk egg whites to soft peaks. Whisk in flour and club soda.
Working in batches, dip beans in batter, then lower into oil. Fry until golden brown, about 3 minutes. Drain on paper towels; sprinkle with salt. Serve with dipping sauce.


calories per serving: 302

This entry was posted in appetizer, side dish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

