Easy Colcannon

I have heard of Colcannon before but I have never tasted it. According to Wikipedia, Colcannon is “a traditional Irish dish consisting of mashed potatoes with kale or cabbage.” This recipe looked easy enough, so I gave it a whirl. I did not want my cabbage to be too crunchy, so I left it in the pot about 15 minutes or so (instead of the 5 they suggest). This was really good! It took a little getting used to, but I really liked it! I’ve had it for lunch the past couple of days, and the more I eat, the more I like! I served this with some Tofurky Beer Brats. PS: sorry about the fuzzy pic. We got a new camera, and I obviously haven’t learned how to focus yet.

rating: 9

Easy Colcannon
(www.tasteofhome.com)

serves 8
time needed: 30 min.

Ingredients:

1-1/2 pounds medium red potatoes, cut into 1-inch cubes
7-1/2 cups chopped cabbage
8 green onions, chopped
1 cup fat-free milk (I used Silk Lite Plain)
1/3 cup reduced-fat butter
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper

Directions:

Place potatoes in a Dutch oven; cover with water. Bring to a boil. Cover and cook over medium heat for 12-15 minutes or until potatoes are almost tender, adding the cabbage during the last 5 minutes of cooking.
Meanwhile, in a small saucepan, combine green onions and milk. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 5-6 minutes or until onions are soft.
Drain potato mixture. Mash with milk mixture, butter, salt and pepper.

per serving: 131 calories

This entry was posted in main dish, side dish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

