Applesauce Cookies with Caramel Frosting

Hello, do you remember me?? I’ve been MIA for a week or so. Toby went on a week-long business trip, and I didn’t cook much while he was gone! But I am ready to get back in the groove! Here’s another recipe I got from Pinterest! The picture looked so yummy, I knew I had to try it. The cookies tasted more like cake to me (and that’s not necessarily a bad thing!). And the frosting just added an extra little something (and was super easy to make). These were tasty and a little something different. This recipe made about 4 dozen cookies for me. I sent some to Liam’s school, gave some to neighbors, and then I ate many of the “ugly” cookies. I couldn’t give those away, right?

rating: 8.3

Applesauce Cookies with Caramel Frosting
(http://www.chef-in-training.com/)

Ingredients:

2 cups sugar
1 cup shortening
2 eggs
2 cups applesauce
4 cups flour
2 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. cloves

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 F.
In a large bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and cloves. Set aside.
Cream sugar and shortening together.
Add eggs and applesauce and mix well.
Add in dry ingredients and mix until well incorporated.
Drop small spoonfuls of batter on greased cookie sheet.
Bake at 375 F for 8-10 minutes.

While cookies are cooling, prepare frosting.

Caramel Frosting

6 Tbsp. butter
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 cup packed brown sugar
2 tsp. vanilla
2 cups powdered sugar

In a medium saucepan over medium heat, combine butter, heavy cream and brown sugar.
Cook, stirring occasionally until mixture just begins to boil; remove from heat and stir in vanilla. Let cool, then stir in the powdered sugar.

Spread frosting over cookies
Enjoy!

This entry was posted in dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

