“Chicken” Salad

I made some “chicken” salad the other night, and I had to improvise a little. I had bought 1 bag of Morningstar Farms Chik’n Strips to use, and once I had cooked it and shredded it, there just wasn’t enough of it. It was enough for Toby, but that was it. So I popped by the grocery store closest to our home for another bag, and they didn’t have any. They DID have Morningstar Farms Chik Patties, which are breaded. I decided to see how they would be. So I made this recipe using the first bag of Strips, then I baked the Patties and cut them in half, then threw them in my Cuisinart. Into that mixture I added the same mayo, mustard, lemon juice and parsley, but then I threw in some chopped pecans. So I had two different “chicken” salads. I liked them both. Toby said he prefered the Strip version. I served this salad on toasted bread, but you could also eat it on crackers (like I did the next day for lunch), or serve it in scooped out tomatoes or avocados.

rating: 9

Chicken Salad

total time needed: 15
serves 2-4

Ingredients:

1 bag Morningstar Farms Chik’n Strips
4 scallions, trimmed and thinly sliced
1 1/2 teaspoons finely chopped fresh tarragon or fresh dill
2 tablespoons finely chopped parsley
1 cup prepared or homemade mayonnaise
2 teaspoons strained freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
2 teaspoons kosher salt
Freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

Brown the Chik’n Strips in a frying pan with some cooking spray, then let cool. After it has cooled, pull apart with your hands (into smaller pieces). In a mixing bowl, toss together the chicken, scallions and herbs. Set aside.

In a small bowl, whisk together the mayonnaise, lemon juice, mustard, salt and pepper to taste. Add to the chicken and mix gently until combined. Refrigerate until ready to serve.

This entry was posted in salad, sandwich and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

