Heidi’s Zucchini Pasta

One of my mothers-in-law, Heidi, came to visit us from Germany a couple of years ago and she made this pasta. Toby doesn’t love zucchini, but he loved this pasta, so I told her to give me the recipe. When she made this here at our house, she somehow found at the store these cute little mini zucchini, and I haven’t seen them since then. Regular zucchini will do just fine, you just cut them in to smaller pieces. I think the pasta she used last time were more like egg noodles, but I had several almost empty boxes of pasta on my pantry shelf, so I just combined some elbows, shells, and ziti. Cleaning house here, people. Liam and Toby both really liked this pasta: Liam had seconds and Toby had thirds! I think next time, though, I won’t use the veggie broth on the zucchini. I think that made them too mushy. Browning them is enough for me.

rating: 9

Heidi’s Zucchini Pasta

Ingredients:

1 tbsp olive oil
3 med. zucchini
1/2 tsp dried parsley
1 tsp minced garlic
salt and pepper
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1 cup vegetable broth
about 1 cup crumbled Feta (or more, if you like)
pasta

Directions:

Cut the zucchini into little sticks (like carrots for dip). Pour the olive oil into a pan, add the garlic and parsley  and saute the zucchini until lightly brown (on medium or medium-high heat). Season to taste with oregano and salt and pepper.

Meanwhile, cook your pasta according to package directions. Drain and put back into pasta pot.

If the zucchini isn’t soft enough for you, you can add 1 cup of vegetable broth to the pan and cook that until the broth has cooked off. Add the zucchini to the pan, then stir in the feta. Guten Appetit!

This entry was posted in pasta and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

