Olive Garden’s “Chicken” and Gnocchi Soup

I’m back! Sorry for the week of no posts, but my husband was away on a business trip, and I didn’t cook at all. I told my 5 year old that he could pick his four favorite restaurants, and we would go eat there while Daddy was gone. It was nice, but I am ready to get back to cooking!

I am not sure where I got this recipe, maybe my mom emailed it to me? In any case, I have never had Olive Garden’s Chicken and Gnocchi Soup before, so I had nothing to compare it to. This was simple to prepare, and was really good. Toby had 4 bowls of it! Liam said “This is a good dinner, Mommy!” I only had one bowl since I am trying to lose the five pounds I gained last week eating restaurant food. I didn’t add the corn starch at the end to thicken it, but it was still good.

rating: 8.7

Olive Garden’s Chicken and Gnocchi Soup

Ingredients:

2 – 3 chicken breasts, cooked and cut into bite sized pieces (I used 1 bag of MorningStar Farms® Meal Starters® Chik’n Strips)
4 cups chicken stock (I used vegetarian chicken stock)
2 cups half-and-half
1 stalk celery, diced
1 garlic clove, chopped
1/2 carrot, shredded
1/2 onion, diced
1 cup fresh spinach, chopped (I left the spinach leaves whole)
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 teaspoon thyme
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1 tsp. chicken bouillon or to taste (I add a little extra vegetarian chicken stock)
salt and pepper to taste
16 ounces potato gnocchi
1 tablespoon cornstarch (optional, for thickening, if desired)
Freshly grated parmesan (I forgot!)

Directions:

Saute the onion, celery, garlic, and carrot in oil over medium heat until onion is translucent.
Add chicken stock, bring to a boil and throw in the gnocchi, gently boil for 4 minutes. Then turn down to a simmer.
Add half and half, salt and pepper, thyme, bouillon and nutmeg. Simmer gently for about 10 minutes. Do not boil or your cream will curdle.
Add spinach and chicken and cook for another 5 minutes.
Ladle into bowls and grate fresh parmesan cheese over each serving.

NOTE:
(For a thicker soup add cornstarch dissolved in 1-2 Tbsp of cold milk and add to simmering cream mixture)

This entry was posted in soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

