Chocolate Pots de Creme

This is one of my favorite desserts, and there’s only one place in town that has these (they have vanilla, too, although they aren’t as good as the chocolate). Pioneer Woman posted a recipe for these, except hers are flavored with orange. I didn’t have any Grand Marnier on hand, so I left that out and used vanilla instead. I was afraid to use my blender for this, because I have had really bad luck with blenders and hot liquids. I thought about using my food processor, but I decided to try my immersion blender. Mixing up the chocolate chips and the eggs was loud and crunchy-sounding, but once I poured in the coffee, things quieted down. This recipe only made 5 small glasses-full (see pic) for me. I made some homemade whipped cream and put that on top (after they had cooled for several hours in the fridge). These were really good (although not as smooth as the restaurant’s). Liam didn’t like his (maybe because of the coffee?), but Toby said that this was good and he had “no complaints”.

rating: 9

Chocolate Pots de Creme
(www.thepioneerwoman.com)

prep time: 2 hours
serves: 12 (not for me)

Ingredients:

12 ounces, weight Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
4 whole Eggs
1 Tablespoon Grand Marnier, More To Taste (I used vanilla extract)
1 dash Salt
1 cup Very Hot Strong Coffee
Fresh Whipped Cream, For Serving
Thinly Sliced Orange Peel, For Garnish (I omitted)

Directions:

Place the chocolate chips into a blender. Crack in the eggs, then add Grand Marnier and salt. Blend for a few seconds, or until combined.
Pour the coffee in a thin stream through the blender lid until it’s all added. Blend another few seconds, or until smooth.
Pour mixture into small cups or jars, then refrigerate for at least 2 hours, or until chilled and set.
Top with plenty of sweetened whipped cream, then garnish with sliced orange peel.

This entry was posted in dessert and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

