Shelton’s Stir-Fry

About 20 years ago, I was student-teaching in Boone, NC. The high school I was in had two art teachers, and I was taking over for one of them. The other one, Shelton Wilder, would bring in this rice dish every now and then for lunch. I guess he let me try it one day (I really don’t remember!), and I loved it! I had to have the recipe. That recipe promptly went into my little index recipe card box, where it has stayed for 20 years. I made this a couple of nights ago, and I still thought it was great. Unfortunately the rest of my family didn’t think so. Toby said it was too bland, and it had lots of stuff he doesn’t like in it, like zucchini, carrots, celery, and nuts. You know, it’s really hard to cook for this man. After he took his first bite, he said “What on Earth made you want to cook this for dinner??” This dish is good for getting rid of veggies in your fridge. You can really customize it according to what you have! PS: I couldn’t find Mahatma Saffron Rice at my grocery store, so I made my own: I boiled my rice in veggie “chicken” broth and some saffron threads.

rating: 8 (for me), 3 (for my family)

Shelton’s Stir-Fry

Ingredients:

Mahatma saffron rice
1 onion, chopped
3 garlic cloves, chopped
veggies of your choice (I used celery, carrots, green peppers, mushrooms, cabbage and zucchini), all cut into large chunks
sesame oil (1 tsp or to taste)
1 tbsp chopped rosemary
1 tbsp chopped sage
toasted almonds

Directions:

Prepare rice according to package directions. Saute onion and garlic in sesame oil until they are transparent (about 5 minutes). Add in the rosemary and sage. Add in the hard veggies (celery, carrots, and green peppers). Sprinkle with a little bit of the sesame oil. Cook for about 5 minutes. Add the remaining veggies and cook for another 5 minutes. Add in the toasted almonds and mix into the rice.

This entry was posted in main dish, side dish, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

