Whole-Grain Mustard and Cornmeal-Crusted Seitan

Oh my! This was wonderful! And so easy! Toby took one bite and asked “Is this faux-catfish? It’s great!” It isn’t faux-catfish, but yeah, I could see where he could assume that. I bought the seitan strips instead of a big block that I cut into medallions, and they turned out fine. I made a little sauce out of Veganaise and some adobo powder, and they were so good together! I think next week or so I might make a sandwich with this stuff, and make some vegan tartar sauce, and maybe some lettuce and tomato? MMMMM.

rating: 9.8

Whole-Grain Mustard and Cornmeal-Crusted Seitan
(Vegan Soul Kitchen, Bryant Terry)

makes 4-6 servings

Ingredients:

1/2 cup cornmeal
1/2 tsp fine sea salt
1 tsp freshly ground white pepper
1/4 cup whole-grain mustard
1 pound (16 ounces) seitan, cut into 1/2″ lengthwise medallions
1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil

Directions:

Combine the cornmeal, salt, and pepper in a small bowl and whisk together with a fork. Set aside.
Add the mustard to a small bowl. One at a time, using a pastry brush or your finger, rub the seitan medallions with mustard on all sides to lightly coat. Next dip the medallions in the cornmeal mixture, shaking off the excess cornmeal,and transfer to a clean plate.
In a large saute pan over medium-high heat, warm the olive oil. When the oil is hot but not smoking, add half of the seitan and fry until golden brown and crispy, 1 to 1.5 minutes each side. Transfer to a paper towel-lined plate to drain. Repeat with the remaining medallions.

This entry was posted in main dish, side dish, vegan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whole-Grain Mustard and Cornmeal-Crusted Seitan

  1. Fria says:

    So I made this when my sweety was in town (he’s vegetarian). I’ve made seitan before, but I got store bought seitan, too….I have to say, mine was MUCH better!
    This was a great idea! I made this with IKEA whole mustard to coat, then used IKEA horseradish sauce. It was very good, and paired it with onion cheese spätzle and spinach, it was a nice hearty, filling meal. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

