California Gardein “Chicken” Salad

I’ve made faux “chicken” salad before, but I’ve never put grapes in it. It was good! I don’t know if I would make it like this all the time, but it was a nice change. I did find the Gardein Chicken strips at my local Target (first time I’ve seen them). I think I pulsed them too long in the food processor, because they ended up being a little mushy. Oh well.

rating: 8

California Gardein “Chicken” Salad
(The Conscious Cook, Tal Ronnen)

Serves 8

Ingredients:

1 cup vegan mayonnaise
2 teaspoons rice vinegar
Juice of 1 lime
1 tablespoon agave nectar (a sweetener found in the baking section of many grocery stores)
1 cup champagne grapes
3 stalks celery, diced 1/4 inch (I omitted)
2 pounds Gardein chicken-style strips (check the freezer section of your supermarket), thawed and coarsely pulsed in a food processor or chopped by hand
3/4 cup walnuts, toasted and coarsely chopped
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Directions:

Place all of the ingredients in a large bowl and toss gently to combine.
Serve on your bread of choice.

This entry was posted in main dish, sandwich, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

