Cavatappi with Browned Brussels Sprouts and Buttery Breadcrumbs

My 5 year old son says that he loves Brussels sprouts, but I didn’t think he had ever had them. So I made this pasta dish the other night and, nope, he doesn’t like them. But my husband and I do! These Brussels sprouts were so good! I made a note that next time I make this recipe, to double the amount of sprouts! There weren’t enough! And my husband also said that we could leave out the onion, that it did nothing for this dish. I also didn’t make this dish exactly like the recipe. I couldn’t find cavatappi, so I had to use a different pasta, and I didn’t have any pine nuts (pine nuts are really expensive!). But- still good.

rating: 9

Cavatappi with Browned Brussels Sprouts and Buttery Breadcrumbs
(Cooking Light, Nov. 2012)

time needed: 25 min.
serves 4

Ingredients:

8 ounces uncooked cavatappi pasta
2 tsp unsalted butter
1/4 cup panko (Japanese breadcrumbs)
4 tsp olive oil
12 ounces Brussels sprouts, trimmed and thinly sliced
1 cup thinly sliced onion
1 tsp minced garlic
2/3 cup organic vegetable broth
1/2 tsp grated lemon rind
1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
2 tsp fresh thyme leaves
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
2 ounces pecorino Romano cheese, shaved (about 1/2 cup)
2 tbsp pine nuts, toasted (I omitted)

Directions:

1. Cook pasta according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain and transfer to a large bowl; keep warm.
2. Melt butter in a small skillet over medium heat; swirl to coat. Add panko to pan; cook 3 minutes or until browned, stirring frequently.
3. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add Brussels sprouts to pan; cook 2 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add onion and garlic; cook 3 minutes or until onion is tender and the Brussels sprouts are lightly browned. Add broth and next 5 ingredients (through pepper). Cover and cook 2 minutes or until Brussels sprouts are crisp-tender. Add Brussels sprouts mixture to pasta; toss well. Sprinkle with cheese, pine nuts, and panko. Serve immediately.

This entry was posted in pasta and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

