Avocado Bean Dip

Last night we had what I call a “Ploughman’s Lunch” for dinner.  Or you could call it “fesper”- that’s what the Germans call it. Or really, just call it “tapas”. I pull out a bunch of little bites of stuff, like good crusty bread, a good cheese, some olives, maybe a piece of cut-up fruit, some dips…like this dip! This dip is basically guacamole that tastes a little “beany“. It was good, but probably not something I would make again (I prefer guacamole).

rating: 7.5

Avocado Bean Dip
(Healthy Cooking magazine)

time needed: 15 min.
makes: 2 cups

Ingredients:

1 can (15 ounces) white kidney or cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
1 medium ripe avocado, peeled and cubed
1/2 cup fresh cilantro leaves
3 tablespoons lime juice
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon chipotle hot pepper sauce (I omitted)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
Baked tortilla chips

Directions:

In a food processor, combine the first nine ingredients; cover and process until smooth. Serve with chips. Yield: 2 cups.

This entry was posted in appetizer, snack, vegan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Avocado Bean Dip

  1. I saw the photo in my WordPress reader and immediately the words “oh BOY” escaped from my mouth. Avocado? Say no more – I must make this!

Leave a Reply

