Black Bean Baby Cakes with Pineapple Salsa

Even though these fell apart when I had to flip them, they were still awesome! I think maybe one reason they fell apart is because I didn’t have any cornmeal, so I used more breadcrumbs instead. I always have cornmeal! Not sure what happened there, but more breadcrumbs was all I could think of to use. The black bean cakes would make a good sandwich, too! The pineapple salsa really added to the dish, so you need to make that as well.

rating: 9

Black Bean Baby Cakes with Pineapple Salsa
(Chloe’s Kitchen, Chloe Coscarelli)

makes 16 2″ patties

Ingredients:

Black bean baby cakes:

4 tbsp olive oil, divided
1 onion, finely chopped
1 15-oz can black beans, rinsed & drained
1 small carrot, peeled and shredded (about ½ cup)
½ cup cornmeal (I omitted and subbed in more breadcrumbs)
½ cup bread crumbs
1 tbsp chili powder
1 tsp sea salt
½ cup chopped fresh cilantro
¼ cup of water

Pineapple Salsa:

1 cup diced pineapple
¼ cup finely chopped fresh cilantro
2 tbsp finely chopped red onion
1 tbsp agave

Directions:

For the salsa:

Simply combine all ingredients and set aside. Salsa can be refrigerated 3 to 4 days.

For the black bean cakes:

In a large non-stick skillet, heat 2 tablespoons oil over medium heat. Add onions and let cook until tender and slightly caramelized. Transfer onions to a large bowl and set aside.

Add beans carrots, cornmeal, breadcrumbs, chili powder, salt, cilantro and water to bowl of onions. Use a large spoon or your hands to mash it all together (I used a food processor and pulsed it a few times, this was much easier than using my hand or spoon). If the mixture is too dry to hold together, add water, 1 tablespoon at a time.

Using your hands, form the bean mixture into patties, about 2 inches in diameter. In the reserved nonstick skillet, heat remaining 2 tablespoon of oil over medium-high heat, and pan-fry patties about 3 minutes on each side, until lightly browned and crisp. Add more oil to the skillet as needed. Drain patties on paper towels.

Arrange the black bean baby cakes on a platter, top each cake with a spoonful of Pineapple Salsa and serve.

IMG_0934

This entry was posted in main dish, side dish, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Black Bean Baby Cakes with Pineapple Salsa

  1. Angela says:

    You inspired me to make these last night…I added egg to help bind the ingredients. Also added cumin and paprika (in leiu of chili powder and cilantro as my son does not like spicy and my husband does not like cilantro) and brown rice. After I processed the ingredients, I added whole black beans to the mix. I seered the cakes on the cooktop and then baked them in the oven. Delicious! Thanks for the inspiration!!

  2. Angela says:

    I also added a bit of kale as this is the only way to get my family to eat kale! Great way to sneak in veggies!

Leave a Reply

