Coconut & Red Lentil Soup

Okay, I liked this soup. The rest of my family, however, did not. The problem? The cumin and coriander seeds. They were still crunchy, and, well, seed-like. The flavor of the soup was sooo good! But those seeds needed to come out, and I am not sure how to remedy this.

rating: 7

Coconut & Red Lentil Soup
(Crazy Sexy Kitchen, Kris Carr)

Ingredients:

1.5 cups red lentils
1.5 tbsp cumin seeds
1 tbsp coriander seeds
2 tbsp olive oil
1/2 red serrano or cayenne pepper (I omitted)
1 small white onion, finely diced
4-5 cups vegetable stock (or water)
1 12-ounce can coconut milk (I used lite)
2 tbsp minced or grated (not zested) fresh ginger
.5 tbsp black pepper
.5 tbsp sea salt
2 tbsp lemon zest
2 lemons, juiced (or 5 tbsp bottled lemon juice)
.5 bunch fresh cilantro, chopped, plus more for garnish
avocado, diced (optional)

Directions:

1. Toast cumin and coriander seeds in dry pot on medium-high heat for 2 minutes until you smell the robust aromas. This process releases the full flavor of the spices.
2. Add the olive oil, pepper, and onion. Stir consistently until the onion is golden and translucent.
3. Add the next 6 ingredients.
4. Put on low heat, stir well, and cover. Allow to cook for about 30-35 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the lentils have melted, meaning they have lost their round shape and have softened. You may need to add more water to get the desired thickness.
5. When soup is done, add the lemon zest, lemon juice, and chopped cilantro.
6. Remove from heat and serve with diced avocado, if using, and cilantro leaves.

IMG_1572

This entry was posted in soup, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Coconut & Red Lentil Soup

  1. Lucy says:

    Thank you for posting this recipe! I made it once using the book which I borrowed from the library and forgot to copy the recipe before I returned it. My husband and I loved this soup! About your seed issue… my Indian grocery store actually only had ground coriander powder (in a size I was willing to buy that is- they had the seeds in giant bags only -lol) so I just used the powder. I still used cumin seed, but didn’t have the big round coriander (not sure I would have liked that either) and it was delicious. Maybe try the powder- you could also use ground cumin. Would give mostly the same flavor without the seeds (still toast it). Thanks again for posting this recipe!
    *You might want to add “1-1/2 c. red lentils” in the ingredients list šŸ™‚

  2. peppertree says:

    THANK YOU! LOL. Yes, lentils would help. I will try the powder next time, thanks!

  3. Ileana says:

    I have a pot of this soup simmering on the stove as I type this. I felt this way about the seeds before even starting to make it so I ground them up with my mortar & pestle first.

  4. I made the soup today for a soup group at work and it was a hit! I use a coffee bean grinder sometimes for seeds, so after I toasted them, I put them through the grinder – very tasty.

  5. I have a TON of red lentils, so now I know what to do with them.

  6. lkmangan says:

    i love the spices whole.. but i can see where it might be too much for some.

Leave a Reply

