Curried Lentil Soup

This soup was really good! And it was pretty easy to make, too! I did leave out a few things that I thought would make it too spicy (I read the reviews online and lots of people said it was spicy). I only put in 1 tablespoon of curry powder and I left out the red pepper completely. Next time I make this I am doubling it, because I only had the tiniest bowl left over for lunch the next day! And if you leave out the yogurt at the end (or use vegan yogurt), this soup is vegan!

rating: 9.5

Curried Lentil Soup
(Cooking Light, Dec. 2012)

serves 4

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon canola oil
1 cup prechopped onion
1 tablespoon minced fresh garlic
1 tablespoon minced peeled fresh ginger
1 1/2 tablespoons curry powder (I used 1 tbsp)
1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper (I omitted)
3 cups fat-free, lower-sodium chicken broth (I used vegetarian chicken broth)
1 1/2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
2 (8-ounce) packages steamed lentils
2 cups fresh baby spinach
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro, divided (I omitted)
1/4 cup plain 2% reduced-fat Greek yogurt

Directions:

1. Heat a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add onion; sauté 3 minutes. Add garlic and ginger; sauté 1 minute. Add curry powder and red pepper; cook 30 seconds, stirring constantly. Add broth, vinegar, and lentils. Increase heat to high; bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer 5 minutes.
2. Place half of lentil mixture in a blender. Remove center piece of blender lid; secure lid on blender. Place a clean towel over opening in lid. Blend until smooth. Add blended mixture, spinach, salt, and pepper to pan; stir until spinach wilts. Stir in 2 tablespoons cilantro. Serve with yogurt and remaining cilantro.

IMG_2853

This entry was posted in soup and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

