Dijon Tarragon Cream “Chicken”

This recipe was good, but my kids did not like it. I am guessing because of the tarragon? It is an acquired taste. I thought this sauce was excellent! I knew I wouldn’t use the cream for anything else and would have to trash it, so I used all the cream I had and made A LOT of sauce. But that’s a good thing! I used Quorn’s Naked Chik’n Cutlets instead of the chicken breasts (since the cutlets are not breaded). I pretty much followed the recipe (although there were no “chicken juices”- ew!).

rating: 9

Dijon Tarragon Cream “Chicken”
(Allrecipes magazine)

serves 4
time needed: 45 min.

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon olive oil
4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves (I used Quorn Naked Chik’n Cutlets)
salt and pepper to taste
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
2 teaspoons chopped fresh tarragon

Directions:

1. Melt the butter and heat the oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Season chicken with salt and pepper, and place in the skillet. Brown on both sides. Reduce heat to medium, cover, and continue cooking 15 minutes, or until chicken juices run clear. Set aside and keep warm.
2. Stir cream into the pan, scraping up brown bits. Mix in mustard and tarragon. Cook and stir 5 minutes, or until thickened. Return chicken to skillet to coat with sauce. Drizzle chicken with remaining sauce to serve.

IMG_3227

This entry was posted in main dish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

