Creamy “Chicken” & Dumpling Stoup

I bid on this cookbook for an online auction to help benefit the animal shelter I volunteer for, and I won it! This was the first recipe I tried out of it, and it. was. awesome! Seriously, one of the best soups I have ever had (or made)! I used Quorn Tenders in place of the chicken. I just browned them in a pan. I really don’t know what makes this soup so flavorful. Is it the combination of the (fake) chicken broth/cream/sherry?? In any case, my husband requested that this soup go into our regular meal rotation.

rating: 9.9

Creamy “Chicken” & Dumpling Stoup
(Rachael Ray’s Big Orange Book)

serves 4

Ingredients:

3 leeks (white and tender green parts split lengthwise and thinly sliced crosswise)
4-5 small celery stalks (thinly sliced)
2 tbsp EVOO
salt and pepper
1 bay leaf, fresh or dried
4 cups chicken stock (I used vegetarian “chicken” stock)
2 cups heavy cream
1 pound chicken tenders, diced (I used 1 bag of Quorn Chik’n Tenders)
2 (12 ounce) packages fresh gnocchi
a handful of fresh flat-leaf parsley, finely chopped
1 tsp sweet paprika
3 tbsp dry sherry

Directions:

In a Dutch oven or soup pot, heat the EVOO, 2 turns of the pan, over medium heat. Add the leeks, celery, bay leaf and salt and pepper to taste and cook until the vegetables are softened, about 5 minutes.

Add the chicken broth and bring to a boil, about 3 minutes. Stir in the cream, lower the heat and simmer until the soup bubbles at the edges. Add the chicken and gnocchi and cook for 5 minutes. Remove the bay leaf. Stir in the parsley, sherry, if using, and paprika; serve hot!

IMG_3282

This entry was posted in soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Creamy “Chicken” & Dumpling Stoup

  1. I just made a dumpling soup this week too! I always crave them this time of year.

Leave a Reply

