Baked Macaroni

I am kind of a mac-n-cheese snob. I am very particular about it. I was a little wary of trying this one. I mean, Cheez-Its?? Pimiento peppers? Onion??? But I figured I would try it. My kids liked it, and my husband ate several helpings (I obviously didn’t give him the calorie count for this one). But me? Hmmm. I have this thing about mayonnaise separating in the heat, and although this looked good going into the oven, it looked VERY GREASY coming out. It kind of made my stomach hurt a little after eating it. I saved a bunch for leftovers today, but I don’t think I will be eating them. Too greasy and oily.

rating: 3

Baked Macaroni
(Country Living, May 2014)

serves 8
time needed: 50 min.

Ingredients:

butter, for greasing baking dish
4 cups grated Cheddar (about 1 pound)
1 (10 3/4-ounce) condensed cream of mushroom soup
3/4 cup mayonnaise
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 (4-ounce) jar pimiento peppers, drained and chopped
2 cups elbow macaroni, cooked according to package instructions and drained
2 cups cheese crackers, such as Cheez-It, coarsely crumbled

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Meanwhile, butter a 9- by 13-inch baking dish and set aside.
In a large bowl, combine Cheddar, soup, mayonnaise, onion, and pimientos. Add cooked macaroni; combine.
Transfer macaroni mixture to prepared baking dish. Layer crackers evenly atop casserole. Bake until cheese is bubbly and top of casserole is lightly toasted, about 40 minutes.

IMG_3733

This entry was posted in side dish and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

