Baked Zucchini Chips

These were so good (even to my husband, who doesn’t love zucchini)! I wish I had made more! I think I sliced the zucchini a little too thin, because I lost a couple of the chips in the baking process. 😦 Next time I make these, I am doubling the recipe. Half a pound of zucchini came out to be only one zucchini, so next time I will use two. And I had PLENTY of the panko-parmesan mix left over, so I won’t be doubling that.

rating: 9

Baked Zucchini Chips
(Southern Living, June 2014)

serves 4
time needed: 50 min.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup panko
1/4 cup loosely packed fresh basil leaves
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 cup finely grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 pound zucchini, cut into 1/4-inch-thick rounds
1 tablespoon olive oil
Vegetable cooking spray

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450°. Process first 3 ingredients in a food processor 10 to 15 seconds or until finely ground. Stir together breadcrumb mixture and cheese in a medium bowl. Toss zucchini rounds with oil. Dredge zucchini, 1 round at time, in breadcrumb mixture, pressing gently to adhere. Place rounds in a single layer in a jelly-roll pan coated with cooking spray. Bake 30 minutes or until browned and crisp. Serve hot.

photo (4)

This entry was posted in appetizer, side dish, snack and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baked Zucchini Chips

  1. These look amazing – I could imagine them being both a great snack and a perfect side dish 🙂

  2. alifemoment says:

    I love them, my grandma used to cook them when I was teenager, so lovely, nice memories, thank for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

