Irish Stuffed Potatoes

Funny story about this recipe. I had my 4 baked potatoes on the counter cooling, and had scooped them out, waiting to stuff them. I went into another room for something and came back, and three of the potatoes were gone. My dog had gotten them off the counter and had eaten them! Bad Coco! So I only had one left to stuff (it was on a different plate, farther back on the counter, or it would have been gone, too. I really liked the cabbage/leek/potato/cheese mixture (since that is what I ate, piled up on my plate!). My husband said it was “okay, but nothing special.” My kids did not like it.

rating: 6

Irish Stuffed Potatoes
(Food Network insert- “50 Stuffed Potatoes, Oct. 2011)

serves 4

Ingredients:

4 leeks, sliced
1/2 small head cabbage, shredded
butter
1 cup milk (I used plain Almond milk)
4 baking potatoes
grated Cheddar

Directions:

Bake the potatoes at 400 degrees F for 1 hour. Split potatoes in half. Cook the leeks and cabbage in the butter until soft. Add the milk and simmer 10 minutes. Scoop the flesh out of the potatoes; mash with the cabbage mixture. Stuff into the skins. Top with the grated Cheddar and broil to melt.

photo (5)

This entry was posted in main dish, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Irish Stuffed Potatoes

  1. Looks delicious – what a shame you didn’t get to be the one to eat most of it 😉

Leave a Reply

