Corn and Cotija Guacamole (aka Esquites Guacamole)

While I was looking up another recipe, I saw this one pop up, and I knew I had to try it! I’ve been having problems with the avocados I’ve been buying recently. I started making this recipe, and one avocado wasn’t quite ripe enough, and the other was rotten. SIGH. So I didn’t have quite enough avocado for this recipe. Also, I thought I had feta in the fridge, but I didn’t, so I threw in some shredded Cheddar. I know, not the same thing, but it’s all I had. I just knew this would be awful, but my 7 year old loved it! I have to say, I really liked the addition of corn to the mix! I would make this again (and hopefully have better luck with my avocados).

rating: 8

Corn and Cotija Guacamole (aka Esquites Guacamole)
(http://www.closetcooking.com/)

Prep Time: 5 minutes, Cook Time: 20 minutes, Total Time: 25 minutes
Servings: 4

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon butter
1 cup corn (~2 ears)
2 large avocados, mashed
1/4 cup cotija (or feta), crumbled
2 tablespoons lime juice (~1 lime)
1 jalapeno pepper, finely diced- I omitted
1/4 cup onion, finely diced
1 tablespoon cilantro, chopped
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Melt the butter in a heavy skillet over medium-­high heat, add
the corn, toss and let it sit cooking until charred, about 6-­10
minutes, mix it up and let it char again, about 6-10 minutes,
and remove from heat.
2. Meanwhile, prepare the remaining ingredients.
3. Mix everything and enjoy!

photo

This entry was posted in appetizer, snack and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

