Rita’s Spinach Casserole

This recipe got rave reviews in the All Recipes magazine, so I tried it. And it’s good! Not the best pasta I have ever had in my life, but it’s good! My 8 year old said it was in my “top 5 pasta recipes ever!” I don’t know if I agree with that. I used vegan sour cream and Quorn Grounds for the ground beef. This was easy to prepare, although it does take almost an hour to make.

rating: 8.5

Rita’s Spinach Casserole
(All Recipes magazine, Feb./March 2015)

serves 6
prep time: 10 min.
cook time: 40 min.

Ingredients:

1 pound ground beef (I used 1 bag of Quorn Grounds)
1 (15 ounce) can tomato sauce
1 cup sour cream (I used vegan sour cream)
1 teaspoon dried thyme
3 1/2 cups farfalle (bow tie) pasta, uncooked
1 (10 ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Bring a pan of lightly salted water to a boil. Add the pasta, and cook until tender, about 8 minutes.
2. Crumble ground beef into a skillet over medium-high heat. Cook, stirring constantly until evenly browned. Drain excess grease, and stir in the tomato sauce, sour cream and thyme.
3. Place the cooked pasta into the bottom of a 2 quart casserole dish. Pour the ground beef mixture over the pasta. Cover with a layer of spinach. Top with shredded cheese.
4. Bake for 30 minutes in the preheated oven, until heated through and lightly browned on the top.

photo 3 (2)

This entry was posted in pasta and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rita’s Spinach Casserole

  1. ericrynne says:

    Ooh, saving this recipe for sure if I dont head to my favorite Italian Restaurant in San Jose first! hmm… such a dilemma lol!

Leave a Reply

