Tofu Egg Salad

I checked this book out from the library, and flipping through it, I knew I had to buy this book. So I did (without even trying ONE recipe!). But I knew the recipes would be good, and so far, the first one was excellent! Roberto Martin is the personal (vegan) chef to Ellen and Portia, so you know he’s got to be good! The Tofu Egg Salad was so easy, and was really very good! It was very eggy! I left out the celery, but I think what really made this good was the pickle juice and the pickles! I had this for dinner last night on wheat bread, and today I will have the rest for lunch with crackers.

rating: 9

Tofu Egg Salad
(Vegan Cooking for Carnivores, Roberto Martin)

serves 4-6
Ingredients:

one 14-16 ounce block firm organic tofu
2 medium kosher dill pickles, finely minced
5 scallions, green parts only, minced
5 celery stalks, 5-6″ long, minced (I omitted)
1 garlic clove, minced
2 tbsp pickle juice from pickle jar
1/3 cup vegan mayonnaise
2 tbsp Dijon mustard
kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

Wrap your tofu between paper towels and press to get all the water out. It is imperative that the tofu be very dry. Cut the tofu rectangles into quarters lengthwise, then cut the tofu quarters crosswise into small dice. In a medium bowl, gently combine the tofu and the remaining ingredients.

photo (15)

This entry was posted in sandwich, tofu, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

