Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

I was so excited to try this, and to be fair, I need to try it again. I chose the longer time at low temp, and I think they cooked too long. They ended up being a little brown and were kind of hard to mash. I really think they just cooked too long. I tried to revive them with some almond milk, sour cream, etc., but they still had a sickly brown color and they just didn’t taste good to me. Funny enough, my 8 year old (who hates mashed potatoes), LOVED them. What’s up with that? I will give this another try and go for less time.

rating: 6

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes
(http://lecremedelacrumb.com/)

prep time: 10 min.
cook time: 4 hours

Ingredients:

2 pounds red potatoes, cut into 2 inch pieces (you can peel them but I never do – I love red potato skins in my mashed potatoes!)
½ cup sour cream (or plain greek yogurt)
¼ cup milk (I used plain almond milk)
2 teaspoons minced garlic
2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon black pepper

Directions:

Spray the inside of a slow cooker with cooking spray. Add chopped potatoes. Cover and cook 2-3 hours on high or 5-6 hours on low.
Add sour cream, milk, garlic, salt, and pepper to potatoes. Use a hand mixer to blend together all ingredients. (Please see note below recipe!) Give them a taste and add more salt if desired.

photo (24)

This entry was posted in side dish, slow-cooker and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

