Havana Sandwiches

A couple of years ago we stopped in Durham, NC for lunch. We ate at a Cuban restaurant called Old Havana. We had the best lunch there! I thought about the sandwich I had there the other day, and tried to recreate it. Of course it wasn’t as good as theirs, but it was still good! Their sandwich had black beans, mustard, pickles, and “mojo sauce”. Not sure what their mojo sauce is, but I think it involves avocados. Wegmans didn’t have the right kind of bread, so I just got some really good homemade sliced “pain de campagne”, which is basically country bread. I didn’t put amounts in the ingredient list, because it all depends on how many you are cooking for. I used my ol’ George Foreman Grill for these. I thought the sandwiches were really good! Wish I knew what that mojo sauce was!

rating: 9

Havana Sandwich

Ingredients:

good bread
avocados
black beans
lime juice
pickles
mustard

Directions:

Cook black beans until warm, and add a little lime juice to pot. Put beans in a food processor and process until creamy. Mash avocados in a bowl. Get 2 slices of bread, and spread black beans on 1 slice and avocado on the other. Add some pickles and mustard. Grill in a pan.

photo

This entry was posted in sandwich and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

