Greek Salad Tartines with White Beans

Wow, this was the best dinner I’ve made in a long time! It really surprised me! I made a few tweaks to this recipe: I omitted the red onion (mine had gone bad). I left out the cucumbers and used golden zucchini instead (I pan fried them a little so they weren’t raw). And the bread I used had some garlic in it. Even my 8 year old liked this! What a great summer meal.

rating: 9.5

Greek Salad Tartines with White Beans
(Real Simple, July 2015)
serves 4
time needed: 25 min.
Ingredients:

1 pound cherry tomatoes, halved
3 baby cucumbers, halved lengthwise and sliced into half moons (I used zucchini)
1/4 small red onion, sliced (I omitted)
2 tbsp capers
5 tbsp olive oil
3 tbsp red wine vinegar
kosher salt and black pepper
1 15.5 ounce can cannellini beans, rinsed
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
4 thick sliced whole-grain country bread, toasted
2 ounces Feta, crumbled (about 1/2 cup)

Directions:

Combine the tomatoes, cucumbers, onion, capers, 2 tbsp of the oil, 2 tbsp of the vinegar, and 1/2 tsp each salt and pepper in a medium bowl. Let sit for 10 min. to allow the vegetables to absorb the flavors.

Meanwhile, toss the beans with the parsley, 1 tbsp of the oil, the remaining tbsp of vinegar, and 1/4 tsp each salt and pepper.

Drizzle the toasts with the remaining 2 tbsp of the oil. Divide the tomato mixture among the toasts and top with the feta.

Serve the toasts with the bean salad.

photo

This entry was posted in main dish, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

