Panera Bread Potato Soup

I have never had potato soup at Panera (I am pretty sure it isn’t vegetarian). But, this soup was good! My 8 year old (shockingly) didn’t like this, but my 5 year old did. This was super easy, although the (lite) cream cheese I used didn’t want to blend thoroughly. Easy, relatively fast soup!

rating: 9

Panera Bread Potato Soup
(http://manouvellemode.com/)

Ingredients:
4 cups chicken broth (I used vegetarian “chicken” broth)
4 cups peeled and cubed potatoes
8 oz cream cheese (I used lite cream cheese)
2 cloves of garlic
½ teaspoon seasoning salt
½ teaspoon of paprika
¼ teaspoon white pepper
¼ teaspoon ground red pepper (I omitted)

Directions:

1. Combine broth, potatoes, garlic, and spices.
2. Boil on medium heat until potatoes are tender.
3. Smash a few of the potatoes to release their starch for thickening.
4. Reduce to low heat.
5. Add cream cheese.
6. Heat, stirring frequently, until cheese melts.

photo (19)

This entry was posted in soup and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Panera Bread Potato Soup

  1. You know, I haven’t had Panera’s soups in years… One of the vegetarian ones made me sick once & that was the end of that. This make-at-home sounds wonderful!

  2. jlubella81 says:

    I made this with vegetable broth, and added corn to it…it was delicious!

Leave a Reply

