5-Ingredient Pesto “Chicken” Soup

I saw this recipe on Pinterest and knew I had to try it. 5 ingredients? Yes, please! And this was good! It wasn’t as good as I hoped it would be, but it was good. And it was better the second day! This soup really couldn’t be easier. I used Gardein Teriyaki Chick’n Strips for the chicken (I just didn’t use the teriyaki sauce). I pan-fried the strips and then cut them into smaller pieces. The beans were good in this soup, and I think small pasta would be good, too (like tortellini?).

rating: 9

5-Ingredient Pesto Chicken Soup
(http://www.gimmesomeoven.com/)

PREP: 3 MINS COOK: 12 MINS TOTAL: 15 MINS
Ingredients:

4 cups good-quality chicken stock (I used vegetarian “chicken” stock)
3 handfuls (about 3 cups) fresh spinach
2 cups shredded cooked chicken (I used Gardein Teriyaki Chick’n Strips)
2 (14 ounce) cans Great Northern or cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
1/3 cup pesto
(optional topping: grated Parmesan cheese)

Directions:

Stir together chicken stock, spinach, chicken, beans in a medium saucepan. Cook over high heat until the soup reaches a simmer. Then reduce heat to medium, stir in the pesto, and let the soup continue to simmer for 2 minutes.

Serve warm, topped with Parmesan cheese if desired.

photo (19)

This entry was posted in soup and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

