Mexican Street Corn Salad

This side dish was so easy, and we all (well, not my 5 year old), had seconds! I did use feta instead of the Cotija cheese (the recipe notes said that was an option), and I left out the jalapeno. My corn took forever to get some color on it and I kind of got impatient. I am sure if you cooked yours longer than I did, it would get nice and charred. Great side dish!

rating: 9

Mexican Street Corn Salad
(http://www.sixsistersstuff.com/)

time needed: 15 min.
serves 6

Ingredients:

1 (16 oz) bag frozen corn (or 3-4 cups fresh corn)
2 tablespoons olive oil
3 tablespoons mayonnaise
3-4 oz Cotija cheese, crumbled (I used feta)
2 tablespoons lime juice
1 tablespoon jalapeno peppers, finely chopped (I omitted)
⅓ cup fresh cilantro, finely chopped
2 tablespoons red onion, finely chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
½ teaspoon chili powder
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Heat oil over medium heat. Add frozen corn and let cook until corn starts to char, stirring occasionally (it took about 7-8 minutes before my corn was lightly charred).
While the corn is cooking, mix together mayonnaise, cheese, lime juice, cilantro, red onion, garlic, chili powder, and salt and pepper in a large bowl. When corn is done, gently fold it in with other ingredients.
Serve immediately and store any leftovers in the refrigerator.

photo (31)

This entry was posted in side dish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

