“Taco Bell” Mexican Pizzas

This used to be my favorite item to get at Taco Bell, before I read the calorie/fat count somewhere! I would get them with no meat, of course, and slather them with sour cream (before I found out Taco Bell’s sour cream isn’t vegetarian). This is an easy recipe to make, but it is time-consuming. What takes so long is frying up the tortillas! I would make 2 pizzas and put them in the oven, then start the process of making 2 more. My 9 year old liked these a lot, as did my husband. I thought they were good, but they don’t taste exactly like Taco Bell’s. I think it’s the tortillas that are different.

rating: 8

‘Taco Bell’ Mexican Pizzas
(http://domesticsuperhero.com/)

Makes 2 servings

Ingredients:

1 cup refried beans (I use vegetarian)
2 Roma tomatoes, diced finely
2/3 c. shredded cheese (I used a blend of cheddar and monterrey jack)
2 green onions, sliced
1/3 c. enchilada sauce
4 whole wheat tortillas
Cooking spray

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease a hot skillet or griddle with cooking spray and ‘fry’ the tortillas, flipping frequently so they don’t burn. You want them to get nice and crispy. Remove fried tortillas to a plate.

2. Heat the refried beans so they are warm. Place 2 tortillas on a baking sheet. Spread 1/2 cup of refried beans onto each tortilla. Place remaining tortillas on top of beans.

3. Pour half of enchilada sauce on top of each tortilla and spread around.

4. Add half of the chopped tomato on top of the sauce. Add 1/3 cup of cheese on top of each tortilla. Add half of the green onions on top of the cheese.

5. Place in oven and cook about 8-10 minutes, or until cheese is melted. Serve and enjoy!

photo (50)

This entry was posted in main dish, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Taco Bell” Mexican Pizzas

  1. I haven’t had Taco Bell in a long time, but my guess would be that they use flour tortillas, possibly with lard as the binder. Your version sounds delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

