Chipotle-Inspired Veggie Bowl

One of my favorite things to get at Chipotle is a veggie bowl. It’s rice, beans, veggies, and then whatever toppings you want (cheese, salsa, guacamole, etc.). I decided to see if I could recreate this bowl at home. Mine didn’t taste exactly like Chipotle’s, but it was still good! I used brown rice, canned black beans that I jazzed up with lime juice and cumin, sauteed bell pepper and onion, and some avocado. My 9 year old had 3 bowls full! My 5 year old ate the rice and beans separately, and husband added loads of hot sauce to his.

rating: 9

Chipotle-Inspired Bowl

serves 4

Ingredients:

brown rice (I used 3 boil-in-bag bags)
black beans (I used 3 cans)
lime juice, to taste
cumin, to taste
1 red bell pepper, cut into strips
1/2 white onion, cut into strips
avocados
sour cream

 
Directions:

1. cook rice and set aside.
2. saute pepper and onion in pan until they start to brown.
3. cook beans in a pot with a couple of splashes of lime juice and a sprinkle of cumin.
4. assemble bowls: rice, beans, pepper and onion mix, avocado, sour cream.

photo (52)

This entry was posted in main dish, Uncategorized, vegan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chipotle-Inspired Veggie Bowl

  1. koolaidmoms says:

    I will have to try this. My daughter won’t eat at Chipotle because they use cilantro in their rice and she hates the taste of cilantro. This may be a good compromise for all of us if I can make this for her. Thank you for sharing!

  2. This looks so good, especially since I love chipotle’s veggie bowl! I’ll have to try this!
    xx Ellie | http://www.peanutbutterandle.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

