Favorite Lemon Pepper Baked Tempeh Cubes

My friend Laura shared this recipe on her Facebook page, and the photo looked so good, I had to make it. I have my issues with tempeh. I love it when I order it in a restaurant, but when I make it, I hate it. I have to say that I didn’t love this, but that’s my issue, not the tempeh’s. 😦 Husband really liked this. I used this in my new obsession, a rice bowl! I made jasmine rice, pinto beans (with a little cumin and lime juice), sauteed kale (olive oil and salt/pepper), green onion, and avocado. WOW. This might be my new favorite dish.

rating: 7

Favorite Lemon Pepper Baked Tempeh Cubes
(http://www.thefullhelping.com/)

Ingredients:

¼ cup lemon juice
2 tablespoons low sodium tamari
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
2 teaspoons agave or maple syrup
1 tablespoon olive oil
¼ teaspoon (heaping) black pepper, plus extra.
1 8-ounce block tempeh, cut into cubes (or strips)

Directions:

Whisk all of the ingredients except for the tempeh together in a small bowl. Place the tempeh cubes in an airtight storage container and pour the marinade over them. Cover and shake the container so that the tempeh is coated on all sides. Allow the tempeh to marinate for at least two hours in the fridge, or up to a day (I usually do it overnight).
Preheat your oven to 350F. Place the tempeh cubes on a parchment lined baking sheet and give them an extra turn of black pepper. Bake the tempeh for 15-20 minutes, or until the edges of the cubes are golden brown, flipping the cubes over halfway through baking. Serve.

IMG_0538

IMG_0537

This entry was posted in main dish, side dish, Uncategorized, vegan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

