Avgolemono with Orzo

This is an easy soup! EASY! And it was good! Although my two kids didn’t care for it. But husband and I really liked it! I used Beyond Meat Chicken-Free Strips for the chicken, vegetarian “chicken” broth, and I left off the dill (can’t stand dill right now). I hardly ever use orzo, and I don’t know why. I love it!

rating: 9

Avgolemono with Orzo
(Real Simple, March 2016)

time needed: 40 min.
serves 6

Ingredients:

1 cup orzo
2 shallots, finely chopped
1 garlic clove, finely chopped
¾ teaspoon kosher salt
¼ teaspoon black pepper
1½ tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
8 cups low-sodium chicken broth (I used vegetarian “chicken” broth)
3 cups cooked chicken (from 1 rotisserie chicken)- I used 1 bag of Beyond Meat Chicken-Free Strips
2 large eggs, at room temperature
⅓ cup fresh lemon juice
¼ cup chopped dill – I omitted
Sliced lemons, for serving – I omitted

Directions:

Cook the orzo according to the package directions. Drain and reserve. Meanwhile, cook the shallots, garlic, salt, and pepper in 
the olive oil in a large pot over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until the shallots are softened, 10 minutes. Add the broth and chicken. Simmer 10 minutes. Remove 1 cup of hot broth in a heatproof measuring cup.
Beat the eggs and lemon juice in a bowl. Slowly add the reserved broth, whisking constantly. Stir into the soup.
Stir in the orzo and chopped dill and serve immediately, garnished with sliced lemon.

FullSizeRender (11)

This entry was posted in soup, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

